Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review

Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com

via Unsplash

An Nou Fericit!
(Pronounced ahn n-oo fair-e-cheat)

Happy New Year!

It’s 2018! We made it! Congrats to all! (Seriously, we could all use congratulations at this point. Last year was rough). A lot happened in 2017. Not just here in the U.S., but quite a few headlines from Romania reached our shores. Things I didn’t cover, and some things I did.

↓ Here are some of the top five events of 2017 in Romania ↓

5 // Cinci — Romania’s First Woman & First Muslim PM. Almost.

So close, yet so far. At the beginning of 2017, Romania’s Social Democratic Party nominated Sevil Shhaideh as prime minister.

Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
She would be not only the first woman, but the first Muslim, to hold the position, a huge feat for a country with a Muslim minority. But, in a twist many saw coming, the current Romanian president, Klaus Werner Iohannis, rejected the nomination, squashing any hope of change in a country that’s been hiding in communisms shadow for almost thirty years.

There’s always next time. C’mon, Romania—you can do it!

Read More:
Romania President rejects Muslim Sevil Shhaideh as PM
Why Sevil Shhaideh Should Have Been the First Muslim Prime Minister of Romania
Romania Set for First Female, and First Muslim, Prime Minister



4 // Patru — Michael I of Romania, Rest In Peace

One of the last living monarchies of Romania, King Michael, passed on December 5, 2017, at age 96. He ruled Romania until 1947, when the Soviets overthrew him.

Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
It was said of the king that he was “the only person who may be able to pull the country through the coming months and save it from anarchy or communism”, and we all know how that turned out. (Hint: communism fell in Romania in 1989—42 years later).

Rest in peace, King Michael I.

Read More:
King Michael I of Romania won over a nation he barely ruled
Romania mourns the death of former king
Who was King Michael I of Romania?



3 // Trei — Kim Davis… Abroad?

Kim, do you remember Kim? The clerk for Rowan County, Ky. who was jailed in 2015 for refusing a marriage license to a gay couple? Ringing a bell? (I know, most of us have probably tried to push her from our thoughts.) Here’s a photo reminder:Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.comWell, when things didn’t quite work out in America, Kim hopped across the pond and tried her hand in Romania. Even more confusing: same-sex marriage isn’t permitted in Romania, so Kim’s presence was even more confusing. During her stay, she visted six cities, spoke with journalists, and worked to uphold the belief that same-sex marriage is “an attack on religious freedom.” Her words, not mine.

In a drop-the-mic moment, Vlad Viski, the president of MozaiQ, a lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender group in Romania, commented:”It is extremely worrying that a person who broke the law in the United States is being brought to Romania and presented as some sort of hero of Christianity.

We couldn’t agree more, Vlad. We. Couldn’t. Agree. More.

Read More:
Kim Davis Takes Struggle Against Gay Marriage To Another Theater: Romania
Anti-gay marriage clerk Kim Davis takes her fight from Kentucky to Romania
Kim Davis Encourages Religious Freedom in Romania



2 //Două — Bihor VS. Dior

Romanian brand La Blouse Roumaine caused a stir in the fashion world with one simple, yet powerful, post in June 2017:
Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
The controversy arose when fashion designer Christian Dior revealed his Fall 2017 collection, including a piece that looked suspiciously like an article of Romanian waistcoat, traditionally worn by peasants from Bihor County. The hashtags #BihorNotDior and #GiveCredit started trending all over social media.

Similarly, later in the year when Tory Birch revealed her 2018 collection, a similar uproar over her design versus a traditional Romanian coat, prompting the same conversation: is it inspiration, or cultural appropriation?
Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
Read More:

The #GiveCredit Campaign Continues: it was discovered that Dior also copied a traditional Bukovinean waistcoat

Romanian traditional coat, copied by designer Tory Burch



1 // Unu — Romanian Protests

One of the topics I covered in detail back in February was the protests that swept through Bucharest and many other cities across Romania.

Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
To sum it up: lawmakers pushed through a bill that would allow politicians to evade justice for their criminal activities, citing that the law’s true intention is to prevent overcrowding in prisons.Safe to say, the majority of Romanians were not buying it. Not. One. Bit.

My blog post goes into further detail, but it was also a story so big that it was covered by one of my favorite vloggers from all the way in California, and he does a fantastic job explaining further:

Read More:
Romanians protest against weakening of anti-corruption powers
Everything to Know About Romania’s Anti-Corruption Protests
Why did thousands of people protest in Romania?



From Dill to Dracula // Most Popular Post of 2017 — Jumări {Pork Graves}

The most popular blog post on From Dill to Dracula of 2017 was a feature of one of my favorite Romanian delicacies: jumări.

Romania Top 5 2017 — A Year in Review | From Dill To Dracula www.FromDillToDracula.com
Need a taste before you check out the blog post? Here’s a snippet: “… they’re literally fat, fried in more fat, and sprinkled with salt.”



Did I miss something?
↓ Let me know in the comments! ↓

And here’s to a 2018 better than 2017!

LA REVEDERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *